• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor employment prospects following potential criminal conviction

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor employment prospects following potential criminal conviction

Hi.

Potential criminal record --- aagghhh!

I'm an experienced IT contractor in Financial Services, been working since 2011 with multiple contract extensions in each contract. I'm currently working through an unbrella company (inside), like most of us, but had a limited company for many years (outside), like most of us.

I'm here looking for advice on hiring policies given an unfortunate change in my circumstances having been charged with a breach of the peace (shouting, causing fear and alarm). I need help with understanding the effect that a potential conviction will have on my employability given that even a fine (most likely outcome if guilty) would appear on an Enhanced Disclosure as a spent conviction.

Can anyone tell me (or signpost me) if I'll be automatically passed over for subsequent inside/outside contracts in FS? This is to help my lawyer gather evidence of the effect a criminal record would have on my future employability. I guess that could be either official policy or simply the way the market works.

Obviously this is not something I would like to share at present with my current umbrella or the FS client with whom I'm contracted.

Thanks all.
    Anon.