• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Surplus cash investment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Surplus cash investment

Hi,

Hope you all are well.

I have been contracting for many years and have been taking salary and dividends. I also invest in SIPP every year but still got a surplus cash left. I used to have Business Savings accounts but inflation being jumped to ~10%, the 1 to 2 % savings rate is not going to save it.

I have been thinking of investing that surplus cash for a while and now seems to be the time to act on it.

This is what I have done so far.
    • Spoke to my accountant regarding investing this money. He advised not to invest more than 10% of cash in the name of my main trading company (used for contracting). His suggestion was to open a dedicated investment company as it will have an appropriate SIC for stock investments, open a new bank account and set up a commercial loan agreement between two companies
    • He also advised that they cannot manage a Ltd Company doing stock investments so asked to get another accountant for this
    • I got another accountant to do the yearly submission only, opened another limited company for Stock Investments and opened a new business bank account with cashplus bank.
    Questions
    • Has anyone done any stock investments in the name of their trading limited company? If so, would be great if you share some insight please? (e.g. which broker/platform, what %age of company cash was/is invested etc.)