• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Extension

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Extension

Hi all,

I wonder if someone can help a newbie here. I have done tons of reading but not quite landing to the right decision.

Currently providing service to an end client through an agency, i.e. I have contract with agency, I invoice agency, they invoice client, and then agency pays me, weekly. My old contract was professionally reviewed by Larsen Howie and deemed outside IR35 (issued by Agency to the Ltd company).

Current contract started 16/9/2020 and ends on 16th March and have been offered an extension to lead another project within HR domain, previous contract was in different discipline. However, with no surprise, they have now deemed the role to be inside IR35.

Questions -
    • On my extension, essentially, everything remains the same, i.e. day rate, place of work with no need to commute to office etc, having luxury of choosing my hours etc etc. - are there any tell tell signs I should look out for in new contract?
    • Should I be worried about backdated enquiries if this contract extension is done with similar day rates and level etc?
    • I a currently with Gorilla Accounting who offer Umbrella Services, however, are not FCSA registered/recognised. They have been amazingly good with accountancy side of the things since I have moved and their calculation under UC is fairly similar to that of other FCSA accredited agencies I have spoken to. Is this a red flag given no FCSA accreditation?