• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Mortgage Advice - First Time Buyer (shall I use Broadbench?)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mortgage Advice - First Time Buyer (shall I use Broadbench?)

Hi Guys,

I am currently looking at buying my first house. I am a contractor with 2 years of contracting (12 months per contract) and have just received a new 12 month contract. Whilst shopping around I ended up being contacted by a company called Broadbench. They have so far made all the right noises, saying they are confident they can get me the Mortgage I want at a competitive interest rate and we have got to the stage where they would like me to send in all documents for an Agreement in Principle... plus the £100 fee they are charging for this. Is this necessary? I know how to do get an Agreement in Principle, but I don't think I'd be able to get the mortgage I want at a competitive rate with Lenders they are mentioning (high street lenders like Halifax etc). Do I need to go through these and pay the £100 fee for an AIP?

I have done a lot of research on this forum and elsewhere and can't find much about this company, has anyone used them? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

:-)

Speak to Halifax first if you like them. I've recently been in touch with them about this and you sound like you hit their criteria for using your contract rate as basis for borrowing amounts and they ask that you've been 'working' for two years prior to application, but I think they take each case as it comes.

Comment