• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Am I self-employed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by m0n1k3r View Post
    If we were employees in the true sense we'd be having to pay ourselves NMW and the pension malarkey which we don't.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

I'm not working for myself. I am not an employee (else I would have a contract of employment, receive NMW, have to be enrolled in a pension, have employee rights and so forth). I am an officer of my company.

That doesn't mean that some people aren't employees of their company (I know some people who have a contract of employment and do all the rest), but that doesn't necessarily mean that you are an employee of the company.

Show me the law that supports that website - it doesn't exist.
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

I understood that an owner/worker/director or the Ltd Co was an officer of the company rather than an employee? But the HMRC page linked to seems to take a different view. Company officers, directors are on different terms compared to employees for NICs for example. Bizarre, the UK tax system is broken. Fact.
        Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
        Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

Comment

Originally posted by Fred Bloggs View Post