• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Training expenses inside IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Training expenses inside IR35

I am a new contractor and I am starting a contract in 2 weeks which will fall inside IR35.

Before I start the contract, I am planning to gain a professional certificate costing £1600 which will help me perform my job at this contract as well as help me get new contracts.

Is there any way to claim this training cost as a legitimate business expense using either an umbrella or limited company?

Get Bauer & Cottrell to check out your contract. They will tell you if it's inside IR35 or not, and may be able to negotiate clause changes with your agency.
    If you're inside, training isn't claimable (except, as the lizard says, out of your 5%).
    His heart is in the right place - shame we can't say the same about his brain...

Comment

I am a noob, so please excuse my ignorance...

So, if I can't claim this as a business expense, do I have to pay for it myself from net earnings?

If this is the case, do I also have to pay VAT as I am paying for it and not the company?

Comment

You can't claim it as a business expense under IR35, so effectively yes, you are paying out of net earnings.
        I believe you can still reclaim the VAT (if you are registered). You certainly have to pay VAT, regardless of whether you are purchasing as an individual or a business.
        His heart is in the right place - shame we can't say the same about his brain...

Comment

Originally posted by benboy