• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expenses for potential one-off contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expenses for potential one-off contract?

I'm very new to agency work and was hoping someone would be able to give me some advice on whether or not I should/could claim expenses. I have recently signed a contract through an agency to work as a locum in the NHS. The contract has no end date, however, I expect it to last around 3 months as I am going travelling in Feb.

This is where I am confused, I know that if the contract is a one off or lasts longer than 24 months then I cannot claim expenses. However, once I return from travelling I will take up more agency work, the problem is I am not sure about how long the gap will be between this contract and the next. It could be a few months or it could be a year or more. Is there a time limit between each contract? Would it be too risky to claim expenses (I have to rent accommodation as the contract is 80 miles from my home address) not knowing when my next contract will be? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

There is plenty of advice on the 24 month rule in the newbies section, google and a raft of older posts which you can find using the search method.

24 month rule is all about location not client. If you are worried about resetting the clock then apply the 40% rule I.e. 40% of your time in a location over a 2 year period.