• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

self accounting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

self accounting

hi I'm new here and kinda new to limited company

I work in construction make 15ph it about 33k/year based on the hours I do

I'm trying to understand the basics in running a limited company

so say my company get paid 1k each week do I have to set a side 20% (£200 ) then pay myself min wage £160 or what ever it is then the rest £640 I can pay my self as an dividend but I have to pay 10% on that so I actually received £576 or do I do that x 100/90 so I receive £640 plus £160 ?? of course I will do dividend every 3months

anther thing is if I have expenses can I claim that back from the 20% tax I set a side so say I have £100 expenses weekly do I set a side £100 for corporation tax

thanks any info would be greatly appreciated

ben

self accounting

Welcome to CUK Ben!

You'll find a lot of answers to your questions within the CUK website.

On the right you'll find CUK Navigation. >>>>>>>>>

Look down and you'll come to the First Timers section. Have a read through there.

Umbrella or Ltd? Look here: Setting up your company - Ltd or Umbrella?

Basic expenses questions answered here: Contractor Expenses - How to claim Travel and other expenses via Limited Company or Umbrella

Then pay particular attention to IR35.

And here are the rules when using company credit cards: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/payerti/exb/a-z/c/cards.htm