• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Terminating contract early due to late payment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Terminating contract early due to late payment

Hello.

I am a developer. I have DIRECT rolling (no end date) contract with a client. On my contract it is said that after receiving signed timesheet and invoice my payment is due in 15 days. My client told me not to bother with timesheets. I sent an invoice and in one week I received HALF of the payment to my business bank account, and client said that he is not sure when he will have money for another half. It is 15 days past now, and I want to see if I can terminate early without giving a 1 month notice, and would client be able to decline my termination on a basis that I never sent signed timesheets (I still have all my work history in GIT code versioning tool)

Thanks,
    Y.

Does your contract specify one month notice?

Dunning processes have been covered here before - do a search.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

Originally posted by NotAllThere View Post
      Does your contract specify one month notice?

Dunning processes have been covered here before - do a search.
      Yes it does.

I did a search, and found couple of similar cases with agencies, but not exactly same (as in: "can abscense of timesheet be used as a excuse to dismiss late payment, even though half of payment was paid and I have chat logs where client is saying that he doesn't know when he will be able to pay the rest?").