• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract with Agent, Billing Client direct?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract with Agent, Billing Client direct?

Got a new gig at fairly short notice and received the contract yesterday.

Client is a large consultancy. Contract is with a small agent.
    Contract states that I invoice the client direct, but all other communication is via the agency.
    I've had no reason to think there's anything underhand but I'm still relatively new to it all so wondered if this was standard or odd... previously I've invoiced the agency

Specifically, the wording is

For the duration of the contract period outlined in Contract X – AGENCY will remain in control of the client management in line with its master agreement with CLIENT however it authorises the contractor to invoice directly for the services of the personnel listed.
    The relationship between CLIENT and CONTRACTOR for this contract is limited to invoicing for the services of the specific personnel recognised by contract X and the relevant accounts payment contact required to complete this function as detailed below. For clarification CONTRACTOR accepts that AGENCY is not liable in any way for any financial aspect of this contract hence is excluded from the payment cycle.
    Client are well established so I'm inclined to prefer the idea of invoicing them direct rather than having a middle man...

So the agent is really just getting a finders fee rather than getting paid and giving a cut to the contractor...