• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd Vs Umbrella take home monies

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd Vs Umbrella take home monies

Hello All,
    I am new to contracting but have read a lot into it and decided to go the Ltd route but am beginning to question myself as to ‘own business’ Vs Umbrella.

I started the same day as my contractor colleague and we are both on £400 a day. I am doing the ‘own business’ Ltd company route paying myself £672 a month PAYE and Dividends £2,383 a month for tax efficient reasons. I was on more than this take home as a Permie.

The reason I am questioning myself is that my colleague on the same day rate as me is taking home £6400+ a month. We have been at it for two months now and he is now just putting a deposit down on a Porsche 911 while I am scrabbling around on less money than I was earning as a Permie. How on earth is this possible?

It's possible because your friend is a greedy idiot who has signed up to a dodgy tax scheme 'umbrella' promising +80% take home pay.
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Originally posted by Blakes03 View Post
      Hello All,
      I am new to contracting but have read a lot into it and decided to go the Ltd route but am beginning to question myself as to ‘own business’ Vs Umbrella.