• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor wannabe

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor wannabe

Hi all,

I am currently working as a consultant in a large firm, and I was wondering if I could enter the world of IT contracting. I have about 4 years of experience in banking related projects (financial risk modeling, analytics, reporting), and in all the projects I've worked in I did a lot of programming/scripting, mainly in SAS, SQL, and also Java, Javascript and VB.NET on occasion.

Do you think it would be possible for me to start working as a contractor, having these skills/experience?

I estimate I'd need a min of 200 net per day (paying rent in London and all...).
    What's the gross daily rate required to get this amount of net pay?

Thanks!

Originally posted by CaffeineUseDisorder View Post
    I estimate I'd need a min of 200 net per day (paying rent in London and all...).
    What's the gross daily rate required to get this amount of net pay?
    How are you going to be operating - umbrella or limited company?

If you are using a limited company, what salary level are you going to set, and how much are you planning on taking in dividends? What kind of percentage are you looking to save in the company? What kind of expenses are you likely to have? Are you planning on putting money into a pension, and if so how much? Will that be as employee or employer contributions?

Without knowing how you are likely to operate, any answer (apart from what an umbrella calculator) is pure guesswork.