• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Refused SC clearance. Looking for people experienced with the SC process.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Refused SC clearance. Looking for people experienced with the SC process.

Hello,

This is my first post here. This Summer I finished my undergraduate degree and was one of the top members of my class. I was then approached by the University to undergo a PhD. The PhD would be funded by a top secret arm of the government and to do it I would need an SC clearance. This process begun at the very end of July of this year.

I was very honest on the form. I told them everything I could think of at the time. I will just tell you exactly what I told them at the time, obviously without revealing who I actually am.

I'm Male
    I don't notice any immediate problems with my family. No criminal records etc.
    I myself have never had any real problems with the law either. I have had a speeding ticket and I received a caution for driving the wrong way down a one way street (accidentally I might add). I forgot to declare this in my original form but I wrote to my sponsor about not including this information and that I wanted to formally declare this and they said it would be fine.
    The only real problem I can see is that I have a foreign girlfriend from China who lives with me, which I declared. She's a student here. Could that be it? The work I would be involved with has nothing to do with foreign countries so I can't see that as a problem.