• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Insurance question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Insurance question

Hi, new to contracting (and also a sleep deprived mother of a 10 month old so please be kind!!)

I'm about to start contracting as a data analyst via a limited company and have a quick question. Just to explain, I am a chartered accountant so I don't really want to pay someone else to do what I am comfortable doing in the main.

However, I've had a bit of a look around here and still can't quite get my head round insurance requirements. I am the sole director, I'll be paying myself a salary but will have no other employees and will be working from my home and not visiting any client sites. Do I just need professional indemnity insurance? If so, what level should I cover, just my expected income? Also, please can people advise the sort of price I should be expecting to pay. Thanks in advance for any help

Welcome.

Obviously EL not needed - often with contracts, the PI/PLI insurance requirements are stipulated (and can vary on a contract-to-contract basis). Shop around, Hiscox, QDOS and other companies generally offer the insurance that you need and can turn it round in minutes so that you're insured and ready to go straight away.
    If you're paying more than £50 a month, you're definitely doing it wrong - if you're working from home exclusively, it should be considerably less but as I said, it will be driven by the contractual requirements usually.