• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax year ending. Business just starting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax year ending. Business just starting

Hi all, I'm brand new to contracting and although I have some work on the horizon I haven't done any yet and won't until the next tax year (23-24).
    I haven't even set up as a sole trader or an LLC (the choice will likely be LLC as I will have income protection payments for the whole of the tax year so I will be 'earning' even before I start contracting).
    So far I've been concentrating on getting a qualification and the completion of a required annual test. These 2 things have cost me just under £10k, paid out mostly in February 2023.
    Would it be best so set up as a sole trader before the end of 2022-2023 tax year to try to claim any of this as expenses/losses or at least get the VAT back (I don't think I will be VAT registering any time soon) or should I justy get on with the LLC set up?
    I will be using an accountant but it's hard to find anybody who will help with this unless you're already signed up with them and that's another decision to make very soon.
    Thanks for any advice you can give. I know I don't have long to get on with it.
    cheers

You can't get VAT back if you aren't VAT registered.

What you can do is recover the personal costs incurred from setting up the company for a reasonable period before it is set up.