• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to me Agency tricks...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to me Agency tricks...

Hi all,

This is my first time looking at an inside IR35 contract...and I've had an agency send me a spreadsheet showing the differences between an inside-IR35 rate of £1k per day vs their "casual worker" scheme, which would have a day rate of £875 but they would cover the employers NI.

Strangely, the difference between £1K and £875 is almost exactly the amount of employers NI required...

Inside: At £1K inside, I'd pay PAYE/employees NI on £1K per day and then I'd pay employers NI on the £1K and I'd earn £7.8K per month net.

Casual Worker: At £875, I'd pay PAYE/employees NI on £875 and then they'd pay employers NI on the £875 and I'd earn £9.2K per month net.

Obviously, the error is that when inside, the charge rate may be £1K but the pay to the worker is approx £860 per day, the rest being used to pay employers NI.

I suspect some people would fall for this...or is my thinking incorrect?

--Jatinder

Originally posted by jatinder View Post
    Hi all,

This is my first time looking at an inside IR35 contract...and I've had an agency send me a spreadsheet showing the differences between an inside-IR35 rate of £1k per day vs their "casual worker" scheme, which would have a day rate of £875 but they would cover the employers NI.

Strangely, the difference between £1K and £875 is almost exactly the amount of employers NI required...