• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Wondering about a cheap stylus/pad for doodling

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wondering about a cheap stylus/pad for doodling

I'm no artist, in fact I totally suck at everything artistic, but in my area of software development I sometimes need to throw together rough placeholder artwork to be used as textures on 3D models, or to describe an idea to a proper artist rather than use words.

Using a mouse makes me even more useless - trying to lasso an area of pixels accurately for instance. So I was wondering if a cheap tablet/stylus might be worth a go. I don't need billions of levels of pressure as I have fists of ham, just a way to precisely control what I'm doing.

Has anyone else tried this, and can advise me? I know nothing about such devices - do they act as a 2nd mouse, how do I know where the pen cursor is when I'm not drawing, etc?

Thanks for any input (excuse the pun).

Looking at the cheap end, this came up on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Trust-Ultra-.../dp/B003MG11AM
    Last edited by d000hg; 23 January 2014, 13:43.
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

Try some of the lower/middle priced products from the Wacom Intuos range.
    You're awesome! Get yourself a t-shirt.

Comment

Anyone else want to weigh in?

Comment

I've been tinkering with the autodesk sketchpad app on my X230 tablet. That is quite cool.