• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Get vs Post

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Get vs Post

Ive just been completely stumped by a question a permie has asked me (please bear with me - I'm primarily a SQL dev).

I have a page that redirects to another page passing a postcode on the query string. Pretty standard stuff but he asked me why I'm doing a get instead of a post. And I couldn't really answer him.

This isn't sensitive data - is there any reason to use a post over a get in this scenario? Or for that matter a get over a post? I should imagine a post involves squirting more markup over the wire but I have an all encompassing form in the master page anyway so I can't really use that argument.

I'm guessing that in this instance it doesn't matter and it is just a spurious question from a permie.

Google's quite a handy tool. As an SQL dev perhaps you don't know about it?

HTTP Methods GET vs POST

Comment

Originally posted by Platypus View Post
      Google's quite a handy tool. As an SQL dev perhaps you don't know about it?

HTTP Methods GET vs POST
      Thanks. I think....

Comment

If the page is using the postcode to make a different page for each postcode then it should by right have a unique URL with the postcode in it. So a Get.

Comment

Originally posted by minestrone View Post
          If the page is using the postcode to make a different page for each postcode then it should by right have a unique URL with the postcode in it. So a Get.