• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Benefits of my own development laptop?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Benefits of my own development laptop?

I work as a software developer in a contract basis for a client. The client has provided me with a laptop to do my work. I am free to use my own machine if I wish.

I am considering purchasing a work laptop of my own and doing my development on that machine solely. When I move to my next client, I will use my own also. I like the idea of having more control over my workstation. I can customise it and be more comfortable developing on it.

Has anyone else done this? I'm trying to find out the Pros and Cons of doing this. A new machine is a lot of money but I can afford it.

Any input welcome.

You need to find clients who are happy to let you use your own kit - even though your current one does, that's no guarantee that any client will in the future.

This is particularly true if you are working on-site and expecting to plug directly into their network - it's different if you are working remotely.

One of the PMs with this client asked me about using my own kit because I have access to payroll data. The fact that I have access to payroll data regardless of kit, seemed to bypass him. That and my laptop is encrypted to a higher standard than their normal kit.
    Best Forum Advisor 2014
    Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
    Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Originally posted by TheFaQQer View Post