• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Reskilling as contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reskilling as contractor

I've a lot of experience programming language $a -- very popular in the early days of the web but now more out of favour -- there are still roles which I'm getting but its getting too boring, niche and legacy for my tastes. So I'm looking at moving into Java dev since I've done some at work, it's not hard and many of the java contractors I've met don't seem to particularly know much about it.

So how do I actually make the break? In theory I'd rather reskill in my own time, reading books, writing open source and maybe taking the SJCP thing (even if it's a bit crap). But when I'm in contracts I come home tired and can't be arsed with reading about Spring or whatever. Should I take off three months and work on self training and just regard the lost income as training expense? Or just go for a bunch of (probably lower rate) contracts, or even shudder, permie and blag it?

Anyone have any suggestions or war stories about reskilling?

I managed to get paid to learn C# on a contract. It was because they had an urgent requirement for maintenance of their legacy C++ software, but a longer term development with C#. So a good angle is to find somebody who needs your current skills, but are moving in a different direction. It probably also helped that I was cheaper than any experienced C#'er.