• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Switching to a Mac

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Switching to a Mac

The more I think about it, the more I am considering switching to a Mac at home next time round - which is coming up soon. I'm not a developer, my home use is around Office stuff, surfing, pictures and music.

I'm thinking of getting an Imac. Any advice, reviews information, links to stuff gratefully received

Ta very much

I use XP, Vista and Ubuntu Linux and look after my Ma's Ibook (using os10) as well. I also have an old iMac with Mac os9 on it which I hardly even switch on these days.

Good points about Mac
    Laptops have good battery life
    Apps look pretty
    Not immune but not as many viruses
    You could in theory still use MS operating systems since they are now Intel(but why would you buy a Mac for that?)

Bad points
    Can be harder to find help as not so many about
    Not as much shareware/freeware and commercial s/w can be more expensive
    Can be more expensive
    Need to learn a bit about Mac OS if you're new to it
    Can get some web oddities if sites are MS-centric (no MS web browser for Mac)

All IMHO of course.

Comment

The imacs are a lovely machine - the 24" model is the puppies danglies.

To counter a couple of PS blokes points,

Since there are so few sites around, they tend to be good. Also, if there's a fault with a Mac, Mac users tend to complain about it - more so than if, say, a Dell had a specific issue.