• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

DevOps - Agile / Deployment Pipeline & Continuous Delivery - What creates the VM?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DevOps - Agile / Deployment Pipeline & Continuous Delivery - What creates the VM?

I am new to all of this Agile / Deployment Pipeline & Continuous Delivery stuff and have a question that I have not really been able to find out.

Working from the Ops side of the barrier (oops sorry no barrier, wiggly line then) in the deployment of code on VM's. I understand that there is a source control and release process with the VM's being build using say Ansible or Puppet but what actually creates the base VM with the basic OS?

Am I missing something?

I understand that the above can be Agile and continuous with lots of communication, or slow and painful with lots of bad feeling but how is the creation of VM's handled in VMWare or AWS or anywhere really.
    Are we still using "Gold images", copy the image several times to the number of VM's required and then build from the base OS using the agile method?

How is the base VM building actually agile though? is that not slower then the rest?

I am confused.

I've no idea, all the build/deployment/test/support and downstream stuff is handled by Bobs at the client.

Comment

Originally posted by DimPrawn View Post
      I've no idea, all the build/deployment/test/support and downstream stuff is handled by Bobs at the client.
      Badly then?