• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HMRC decision tool: doubts about the selected answers, results, implications, ...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HMRC decision tool: doubts about the selected answers, results, implications, ...

Hi,

I've been contracting for the last 10 years and always concerned about the IR35 issue. My last contract is with the PS and now that they've released the decision tool I tried with a bunch of quite different combinations (like 10 reports), even putting details that up until now I considered were really important in this subject, like substitution and control:
    * Would the end client accept the worker's business sending someone else to do this work instead? = No
    * Can the end client move the worker to a different task or project than they originally agreed to do? = Yes - without the worker's agreement (if the worker doesn't want to change task or project, the end client would no longer engage them)

It turns out that somehow that tool always reports that we are out?

I have a few doubts:
    1. If the PS client has agreed to declare us following the result of the HMRC decision tool, does it then matter that they've chosen that we don't have right of substitution and they've got control in our tasks, as HMRC is anyway saying we're outside IR35?
    2. If we are investigated in the future, would we (contractors) be responsible for any payable tax/fine? or it will all go to the PS client or agency?