• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting as a big "hitter" :-)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The TA is the Visio jockey who "does not do code" and bandies around terms like Service Oriented Architectures, Web Services, Enterprise Application Integration, XML everywhehre, Scale out, Scale up, Messaging Protocols, etc.

They are also the ones that go around saying "I told you so" as well when it goes tits up.

They are all action heroes and earn upwards of £500 per day.

HTH

Comment

As a permie I used to be an Architect for a software company - visiting high profile clients, designing the solution and helping the team implement it etc etc. used to be a good gig at salary + bonus usually in the range of 70k to 90k (bonuses were high when the going was good).

Now, as a contractor, I do a developer's job, somewhat similar to what I was doing about 10 years ago. So yes I've taken many steps back in my career. And yet I earn more than what I did in my permie role. And I'm much much happier.

Contracting can be a big hitter, and that's why I'm doing it -- but only if you have the skills to get the right job at the right rate. I wouldn't contract for something like £200/day, it just wouldn't be worth the hassle unless of course it was working from home or 10 mins drive away or something.

Come on, gimme 5 years contracting and thats all I ask for. After that I will happily get a £5 / hour job in my local Asda.

Comment

Originally posted by Francko
        And you are an architect for 350 a day?