• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Buying a property that lacks building regs for recent work

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by vwdan View Post
    Surely if the footings are undersized and it's not historical work, there's a very real possibility building control could demand you knock it down or rectify? And there's also the very real potential of structural problems in future.

Given how recent it is - I'd tell em to either get it signed off, or forget it.

I'm far from an expert on this (Though if you all recall, I had a crack at DIY building an extension the other year) but conservatory foundations tend to be tiny - little more than you'd put for a garden wall. They're often exempt so chances are a BCO or SE has never ever been near those foundations.
    That's probably why there is no sign off. They have also reconfigured walls and removed a load bearing wall which doesn't have sign off. They are offering to show engineering plans for all this work but still no answer as to why no building regs were signed off. So dodgy

Comment

Originally posted by cannon999 View Post
      That's probably why there is no sign off. They have also reconfigured walls and removed a load bearing wall which doesn't have sign off. They are offering to show engineering plans for all this work but still no answer as to why no building regs were signed off. So dodgy