• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

notice periods

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

notice periods

Hi,

I am a limited company contractor. Last month I got a contract signed via an agency. The end client has got a partner recruitment agency which is acting as a client of my agency.

Now when I signed the contract I was under the impression that I will be parking onsite at client location. The client location is about 1 hour drive from my home. But just before joining I was told by agency that contractors have offsite parking from where shuttle comes to client main office. They told me it will not add more than 20 min. to overall journey.

Long story short it turns out that the parking and coming to client's main office has added 30-45 minute each side to my journey in peak hours.

Due to above inconvenience I have decided to end the contract. I have a 4 week notice period vs 2 week agency's notice. I have asked them to show some flexibility as this is inconvenient to me. They are not being flexible and behaving quite rudely to me.

My question is can I ask the end client to terminate my contract from their side which will eventually end the contract from my agency's client?
    Do you guys see any potential issues if I ask the client to inform their partner agency to terminate my contract so that I may serve short or no notice period.

Thanks
    JP