• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Petition to get the gov to reconsider the dividend tax changes

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by DimPrawn View Post
    I'm in a similar position to you. I sell and rent software as a service. I have spent years part time developing this and now I'm fulltime on it. Suddenly I'm not a proper business anymore and I have to pay more tax that my bigger competitors don't.

I am going to keep the money in the company, and not pay dividends and cut outgoings to the bone. **** the govt and **** the economy. If it takes off and becomes successful, I will take the business and myself offshore somewhere and ensure UK gov gets **** all of the proceeds.

Tories are the govt of small business.....s
    Can you explain the extra taxes you are having to pay that larger businesses don't? It's not Corp Tax, it's not VAT... do you have much T&S to claim?

Or do you mean "I have to pay tax on some of my dividends"? If so, this isn't a cost of doing business that will affect your competition with other businesses.

Comment

Originally posted by d000hg View Post
      For once we're in agreement on something. Voting on a petition is the equivalent of a FaceBook like.
      Are they worth more or less than a CUK like or thank though?
      The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Originally posted by pr1 View Post
        maybe at 7.5%, what about at 10%? 12.5%? 15%? What about if the 5k free limit reduces to zero?