• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting for 20 years, should I have made enough to retire on?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OP is lucky he/she's not been slapped in the face with one lives utter disasters, I've been contacting mostly on with occasional off since 1992 so I should have a fortune but had instead:

1. First 8 years didn't know I was contacting - clue bat needed....

2. Divorce

3. Depression - three years effing about sorting out existence.

4. Chasing girls after divorce!

5. Spending loads on worldwide trips broad after divorce...

6. Spending loads on latest Apple Tech for no reason now worthless but still in shed...

7. Parents deaths, massive holes, no massive house/fund/portfolio legacies for us like lots seem to get, doesn't matter, want my mum and dad back more than anything.

So you can stuff your money, nothing personal of course, Maudlin.com: The Best Search Links on the Net!

Comment

Wow, lots of replies, and a little divergent. To answer some of the questions. I didn't buy the house for £750K, bought it for £400K 12 years ago, and did pay a big deposit, had a mortgage of £170K back then. The reason I haven't paid off the 90K mortgage that's left is so that I can use the money to invest to try and grow it. I should also say *had* £170K in savings, I'm investing most of it in property that's going through at the moment.

Selling the house and renting I wouldn't even consider, have 2 kids & missus who love living where we do, so letting the house would be out too.