• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advertised hourly rates and VAT

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advertised hourly rates and VAT

Probably a silly but.....
    I've been a contractor for many years but never in the UK despite being British.
    If a company offers a rate in writing as £// Ltd by quoting Ltd after the rate does this imply the rate is inclusive or exclusive of any VAT my Ltd company would need to invoice.
    Many Thanks

In my experience it has been exclusive of the VAt your company would invoice for. Not everyone is VAT registered.

Comment

Originally posted by socialworker View Post
      In my experience it has been exclusive of the VAt your company would invoice for. Not everyone is VAT registered.
      But like everything in business, you should clarify it in writing at the earliest possible stage. Many agents cannot tie their shoelaces let alone understand VAT.

Comment

The rate quoted is exclusive of VAT. I´ve never experienced any agent including VAT as part of the rate, which in my view would be unacceptable.
        I'm alright Jack

Comment

Yes, business to business deals will be exclusive of VAT unless it says otherwise. But it's a good idea to be clear about it, and if you ever quote your rate to someone I'd always put x + VAT just to make sure there's no misunderstanding.
          Will work inside IR35. Or for food.

Comment

VAT - Input and Output

VAT has a cash flow benefit to you and not a cost