• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting as an Oracle DBA

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting as an Oracle DBA

Hello world,

I am a newbie from London, first of all thanks for the CUK website and this board

My main area of expertise are databases, Oracle above all, and I was considering to jump to the dark side of the IT arena and start contracting.

My big concern is that all the contractors I know are developers or project managers and I was wondering if the contracting world is suitable for DBAs and system admin too.

When I look at the job boards, for Oracle DBAs for example, I only see a but few contracts advertised, are they all or many simply don't make it to the boards?

My current permie position in a big company seems very solid (well, I'm sure now that I wrote this things will be different ), I wouldn't like to leave for my first contract and then remain benched for a long period of time while looking for my second contract.

What do you guys think I should do? Should I make this jump?

Cheers
    Tifereth

I'll have a go...

Seems to me Oracle is no longer just a DB, it's PL/SQL, RAC, ASM, SP, loads of other stuff as well, if you know it go for it but it is a long time since Oracle was just a database so if u r just adding tables etc, committing this etc you need to expand.

Comment