• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

All change?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

All change?

What are your thoughts on reskilling at the age of 56 after working with a product for the past twelve years?

I have been contracting for around seven years now as a Lotus Notes developer. There is still some work out there but the move is for companies to move away from Notes onto Microsoft products.

My initial thoughts were to keep going with Notes hoping that the skill would have some rarity value and keep the rates at a reasonable level. At the moment, all I can see are contracts requiring my skill set are just very rare and very few around. The day rate also being quite low.

I guess then the question is what to reskill in, I think the learning curve would be a bit steep to start all over again with another coding language, bearing in mind that I have less than ten years before I hit the scary age of 65.

Previously I have been involved in software configuration management and also did a year of testing.

Is there anybody else on this board who was involved in Lotus Notes or who faced a change of direction fairly late in life?

Thank you.

Best thing you can do is get into migrations off of Notes. There are still a few big big companies out there who are on notes and don't know how to get off. From my experience, it's always painful and can take years. Could be a great money-spinner!
    World's Best Martini

Comment

Originally posted by castoff101 View Post