• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Current state of the market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notascooby, Thanks for your reply. Still a little confused as I don't have any of things that would mark me out as niche.

I have several years experience with 'blue chip' media company but I would have to be honest (modest?) and say that I am of average ability - seen many a lot worse but seen many better than myself too. But then again I am only looking for a couple of years work at £350 - £400 pd and I would be moving on to something different (non IT). That feasible or dream world for someone like me?

Comment

You'll find that even media want people with media experience - it makes no real difference but like banks - they feel if you've worked in that environment that somehow it makes a difference to the code you produce!

So that's you niche.

Unless you get some @rse doing a stupidly tricky technical interview you'll be fine picking something up, if there's roles available. Whether you hold on to it, well that depends on whether your skillset is deemed too weak or not.

Get your CV out there, make sure you list the areas that you feel happy in, no point getting a gig doing back-end Java if you're more of a JSF / JSP type.
      Anti-bedwetting advice

Comment

Originally posted by Notascooby View Post
        I'd recommend you look at adding C# to your belt - being able to do both, as long as you're felxible on location, you should be laughing. But there's a lot of people with these skills.