• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Please advise on how to negotiate the rate with agency.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please advise on how to negotiate the rate with agency.

Hi every one, I am a newbie to contracting and recently started my new contract couple of weeks ago.

The contract was advertised for £300 a day but agent negotiated it down to £280 by saying that after 3 months client will do a review and increase it to £300 a day depending on performance which I agreed. The contract is for a year.

I have referred one of my colleagues from previous permanent employment to the same agency and he has been offered £300 a day even though he was my assistant. I am thinking of asking the agency to review my rate as even £20 a day will make a difference towards bed and breakfast and travelling expenses. No one at work is getting less than £300 a day and agency is still advertising the work for £300 a day.

Now my dilemma is that this is my first contract and I am not so confident in securing another one for even £280. It’s still a very good rate but I am feeling that agency has fleeced me. There are some contracts available near my home paying around £240 and contract is for 4 months. I wouldn’t have to pay travelling and hotel charges. Should I go for that?

If I ask them after three months and they may not increase the rate as they will have their finding bonus by then and they may be happy for me to leave.