• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting at Goldman Sachs?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting at Goldman Sachs?

Hi all,

What is it like contracting at Goldman? I know that working there as a permie means 60-70 hours a week, but as a contractor, i suppose you could probably stick to your 9-5:30pm?

Is it possible in reality?

I have worked at another european iBank as a permie and the hours are not that bad, but I know Goldman's reputation.

The role is for mid/back office.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Regards,
    Kevin

Originally posted by kevinlam View Post
    Hi all,

What is it like contracting at Goldman? I know that working there as a permie means 60-70 hours a week, but as a contractor, i suppose you could probably stick to your 9-5:30pm?

Is it possible in reality?

I have worked at another european iBank as a permie and the hours are not that bad, but I know Goldman's reputation.

The role is for mid/back office.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Regards,
    Kevin
    I'd go with the rep you know then.

Comment

is it not stated in the contract?

Comment

I expect like any other IB it doesn't depend so much on the Company but on the individual manager that you end up with.

I've been very lucky and always managed 8-5 without any issues from the manager.

Obviously they breed their managers slightly differentely at GS
        Never has a man been heard to say on his death bed that he wishes he'd spent more time in the office.

Comment