• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie Needs Advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Needs Advice

I've read with interest the threads that deal with agents you definitely don't like, but can you recommend any decent agents, please?

I'm new to this game and really need all the help I can get. I've been caught in the trap of fishing from an agent this week who has suddenly gone on holiday even though there was an "urgent" contract to fill. I'm starting that list that was mentioned titled "never use again". I'm also mithering them to death which is actually quite fun it's own way.....but highlights the fact that I am bored and need work.

Any positive advice gratefully accepted.

Mabozza
    Never trust a man when left alone with a tea cosy and doesn't try it on.

I'm currently using Abraxas and have been for nearly a year now - I've no complaints and they're always very helpful. My only criticism is they don't keep in touch as often as I'd like - I take the initiative to call - but that may well be normal.

Good luck

Comment

Comment

What is it you do.

I can recommend a couple of guys for Technical (what I call, non IT) work.

tim

Comment

I have to put in a good word for Sanderson here. I now have the rate I asked for, an outside IR35 contract (where I'm not mentioned by name anywhere), I was never asked for references, and they told me their margin (11%). I've never come across them until this current contract, but I have to say I'm rather impressed with them.