• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Move out of contract before contract term

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Move out of contract before contract term

I am new to contracting, started out in Sep 2010, working through my own limited company. My first (and the only one) till date started in Sep 2010 through an agency initially for 3 months. It recently got extended in Dec 2010 for another 3 months until March 2011.

However I did not sign the contract the first time and neither did I the second time (when it was renewed). I want to move out of the current contract before march and move closer to London due to personal reasons. My current notice period is 4 weeks as per written contract (which I haven’t signed but have started working and obviously being paid for it)

I have already started looking out for new roles, got a few positive Reponses but no interviews scheduled yet.

What are my options if decide to move out before march: (Provided I get a new job)
    1. My line manager does not agree to a shorter notice period
    2. My Line manager agrees for a notice period less than 4 weeks but the agency does not? [have read posts in some cases, agencies scream because it’s a cut on their commission)
    3. Neither my line manager nor my agency agrees
    4. Any other way out which has been tried and tested which can be shared will be of great help

Advice from experts will be much appreciated. Thanks

Since you've asked for opinions...