• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is this allowed by agencies?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this allowed by agencies?

I'm new to contracting finished my first contract 2 months ago. Last Wednesday I went for an interview I am still waiting to hear.

So far the agency concerned with the position has called me 3 times to make sure my situation has not changed and I am still available. Today I got another call from them first thing asking the same thing and saying they are having issues getting hold of the company and can I confirm that if I am offered it I will accept it so if they do offer it to me they will accept for me on my behalf and get paperwork out straight away, they were quite insistant on making me agree to accept now.

I was not happy with this and did not like the pressure obviously there trying to be hidden behind niceness and making it sound like they are doing me a favour! I never experienced it in my first role so not sure whether this is common practice and was not sure of the correct thing to say as they caught me unawares

To me this seems crazy for anyone to do this as whats to say they take ages to make a decision and I have found another role before then. I'm sure the agent will then kick up a huge fuss when I say no at that point as they will say I agreed to take it and verbally accepted??!!

Just say yes to the agent and then keep looking. If you accept another offer and the first agency also comes back with an offer, take whichever you prefer.

Comment