• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to all this....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to all this....

Hello, just stumbled across your site and you all seem like helpful folks so...

I'm about to take a new job, it is sort of employed, and sort of self employed, let me explain.

Vehicle, phone and work all supplied by a company, but I'm left to either set up a ltd company or use an umbrella. What should I do in this case, I'm thinking that I should just set up a ltd company, as I'm also a photographer so could amalgamate both into the same company.

It's a slightly unusual situation, so any advice you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Jim

I suggest you go and talk to a friendly accountant about it.

If you have any friends who use accountants for their small business ask them. Otherwise you can use the search facility and find accountants who use this forum who you can contact.

When I asked about accountants two people said they couldn't recommend the accountant they had used because they were crooked.

There are links to guides on the RHS which you should read first. Plus you can google for PCG and read their guide to contracting.

After reading all this stuff and digesting it make the appointment with the accountant(s) and ask them the questions relevant to you.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment