• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working abroad from UK, Dubai? How to start?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working abroad from UK, Dubai? How to start?

Hi,

I'm a long-term contractor within the UK market.
    I am originally an Industrial Engineer, for the past decade and a half I've been IT in Banking and Finance, Manufacturing, Industry including Gas and Oil, Insurance, Life and Pensions.
    I've delivered many minor and several very significant projects.

I operate IT and Business change, I am technical and business focused, something of a hybrid, hence I can relate and translate between the two, interacting at all levels.

I generally operate as a Project Manager or Programme Manager, also do Audit, Compliance, Quality.

I have my eye on working abroad, there is growth out there and I want to contribute.

Where do I start?
    Who are the agencies?
    What are the skills and qualifications needed?

If anyone can get me a foot in the door I'll buy you lunch!

Thanks
    Steve

Hi Steve,

I came back from working in Abu Dhabi in October 2009 after a one year contract. Due to Visa limitations, I had 30 days to locate another job after the contract expired or leave the country. During this time I researched the local job scene and found it to be very different to the UK way of doing things. There are some agencies from the UK that also cover the region but on the whole I found it very difficult to make any impression with the local agencies. In the end I didn't secure anything and returned to the UK.