• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Only as good as your last contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Only as good as your last contract?

I’ve been a Test Manager for 10 years and have progressed to large projects in large corporates. But now, I am on the bench . I’ve now been offered a BA job through an acquaintance's company. Obviously this is more junior than the roles I’ve held in the past, but it is within the IB industry (though not within a bank). Thing is – will this affect my CV for future roles? I’ve only been on the bench this week so I could hang out for a few more weeks for a TM role. But they seem few and far between at the moment so I’m worried that if I turn this down, I’ll be in the tulip. At the moment, do you take any work, or should you still stick with the plan and make sure you’re only taking contracts that look good on your CV?

I am a BA and always get involved in setting/planning test strategy, and planning/executing UAT etc.. so the roles are not so far apart, when the market is better, you'll get plenty of jobs, when the market is bad, survival is for the fittest.

My point is take the role and do it, later when the market is better you can highlight the testing parts for this role in your CV and make it sound like test analysis focused role(not fibbing, just highlighting according to your new role)
    In any case variety and exposure to various roles within the project is always beneficial IMO.

Anyway, take the role and be happy you got one best of luck.

Comment