• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Fustration in investment banking

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fustration in investment banking

Been looking for a contract for around 8 weeks in Investment Banking.

I have around 12 years experience in investment banking. I do databases and C#/java development.

Interviewed for 7 hours for a role (3.5 hours 2 interviews/7 people) and now they say they don't think I am up to the mark.

This is inspite of the fact that the person interviewing me got some of his facts wrong on log shipping, which I politely pointed out.

I was able to demonstrate knowledge to page level, btrees etc.

What does it take for these people to offer you a job!!! I should bill the buggers for my time.

Anyone else finding it tough at the moment.

Previous role I was rejected, because I couldn't remember all of the RAID configurations for a development role. Is it about the ego of the person interviewing you or are they looking to employ you.

Originally posted by smithsi View Post
    Interviewed for 7 hours for a role (3.5 hours 2 interviews/7 people) and now they say they don't think I am up to the mark.

I should bill the buggers for my time.
    Well, if it makes you feel any better, it must have cost them a considerable amount of time/resources/logistics to take that long to come to a decision for a contract role.

With that kind of nonsense going on, they probably won't be in business for much longer anyway.

Comment