• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Rates in France

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rates in France

What's a normal rate for a contract in France.

I'm an embedded engineer and the job's not in Paris (so I suspect you can guess where it will be).

As a reference I'd expect 65-70 Euro ph in Germany, but I've been asked for a day rate. Is 550 too much?

tim

Rates are "de la merde " in France. For a mainframe dinosaur, 400 euros in Paris is top-whack, and I've been offered work at 280 in Nice and Bordeaux.
    The French business model is severely flawed with SSII (consultancies) getting in contractors via middlemen, to work at client sites, meaning generally there's an extra pimp involved, meaning less for the contractor.
    I would only take work locally at those sort of rates, as, once you've taken out travel,tax and accommodation, you might as well not bother.
    We must strike at the lies that have spread like disease through our minds

Comment

Thanks, fleety that was quick.

I'm aware of the existance of the likes of Alten placing people, but if that is the deal, I'm not interested.

I'm assuming that the placement is direct from the agency and I told the guy that I got 500 in Germany and he didn't flinch.

He IS trying to interest me in the crappy jobs that he can't fill, so I might dip out on it anyway, (to steal a comment from MF(?), I'd much rather do a really interesting job for 300pd, than a crappy one for 1000 - I already have the crappy one!)

tim

Comment