• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency margin increase

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agency margin increase

I’m fairly new to the contracting world so any advice would be appreciated…

I’ve been contracting at a client site for three months. The client wants to extend my contract for another three months at the same rate, however the agency has told me that they will only continue with the extension if they (the agency) increases their margin by 50%, therefore reducing my day rate.

As you can imagine, I am not a happy bunny.

Has anyone heard of this happening before?

Originally posted by js123 View Post

I’ve been contracting at a client site for three months. The client wants to extend my contract for another three months at the same rate, however the agency has told me that they will only continue with the extension if they (the agency) increases their margin by 50%, therefore reducing my day rate.

Firstly, that is absolutely insane business sense from the agency. I can understand the agent not negotiating on the margin (ie keeping it the same) as times are tough - revenue maximisation/protection is the name of the game, but that should NEVER be at the expense of the people who are out there doing it for us.

Secondly, if they want to increase their margin, they should be doing it with the client, not by taking money off of you.