• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Signing contract extensions retrospectively

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have been working thru Elan for more than 3 yrs, my contract is extended by the client every 6 months. Each time I got an extension I signed the contract and sent it to the agency.
    I have not been happy with their services and have told them that I'll be looking to use another agency for my next extension.
    ThenI got the following email regarding previous extensions going back 3 yrs :

I have checked all our files and we do not have these documents signed.
    We need these as we have to have signed copies for all extensions and
    contracts for all contractors as part of audit requirements.

Now they want me to sign all the previous extensions as they 'don't seem to have them in their records'.
    Has anyone experienced this? am I obliged to sign these expired extensions?
    Please advise.

I believe that regardless of you signing the document that fact that you have continued to work for the client means you have accepted the contract so what does it matter if Elan want you to sign these?

However as its their mistake and they have misplaced the signed contracts bill them for your "admin" time to sign these for them.

Just out of curiosity how do you propose to go about using another agent for your next extension (assuming your offered one)? Why not go direct?

Comment