• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working from home on overseas contract, no agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working from home on overseas contract, no agency

I'm pretty new to the UK. I've been working a contract for a US company for a couple of months. They initially wanted me to fill out a us govt form which would classify me as an offshore employee and they would deduct 30% from my pay before depositing in my uk account. I imagined this would work to my disadvantage so instead I joined a local umbrella co (NorlaGroup) that was recommended by a friend (I was going to use Giant but they refuse to deal with offshore companies) and had them hash out a contract. The us company doesn't pay VAT.

Was shocked to get my first payslip, seeing Norla has withheld 40% for NI/Tax . Apparently I have no expenses i can claim, since i am working from home, and i have to pay the normal 11.5% employer NI contribution. This is not good, i have already lowballed my rate by accident.

I am seriously thinking of starting a limited company but the contract norla has with lasts for two more months.

Is there anything I can do? What sort of takehome can I expect from my own plc?

Well i found a relevant article in the accounting/contracts forum:

http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...composite.html

But it uses figures from several years ago. As near as I can tell, in 2005 I could increase my takehome by around 10% by starting a plc.

Comment

Originally posted by QueenElizabeth View Post