• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question about working offsite

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about working offsite

Hi all,

I am new to contracting and found this forum to be of great help. I created a thread before today but its no where to be found on the forum, therefore i need to ask the same question again.

Its been three weeks since i started on this 6 months rolling contract. The client has asked me to go to another site with them for two days. Previously when i went to this place, it was a day trip and we got back 3 hours late, so i invoiced the client for those extra hours. This time its a longer period so i dont know what to do.

What kind of arrangements can i come up with the client? Or is this part of the job? What can i charge them or ask from them in return for me spending 2 days away from home.

Many thanks.

Amar

It depends on the terms of your contract. Depending on those, either you have to do it or you don't.

If you don't, it's in addition to what you're already contracted to do, and you're free to negotiate whatever terms you like.

Comment

I had a similar situation back in my first contract, like yourself I charged the client every minute I was on the road. Thankfully it never amounted to more than a few days a month.