• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bypass agency and go direct with client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bypass agency and go direct with client

This is my first time posting on this forum. I apologise for the long post but I have some questions on whether it is possible to bypass the agency and contract direct with the client.

Here is some background:
    I have been contracting with the same client through an agency on rolling contracts (within IR35) and want to renew directly with the client when my current extension ends. Initially I started off using an umbrella company and agency contract included a clause on opting out of the agency regulations. I believe this may have been invalid meaning I'm opted in as you have to formally opt out before being interviewed by the client and offered the role.

Regardless I changed to my own limited company at one of the extensions and the new contract included the usual handcuff clause preventing any relationship with the client without the agency for up to 6 months afterwards. This again may be invalid if I'm opted in.

To further complicate matters, the ltd company contract I signed has expired over 6 months now but I've been offered and accepted extensions since. The agency hasn't issued a new ltd company contract but has been paying my invoices, etc.

The client is happy to deal directly with my limited company as the supplier but obviously there is strong objection from the agency.

Questions:
    Does the 8 week limit still apply in this case?