• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How much "reduction" in earnings did the April changes create

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much "reduction" in earnings did the April changes create

Hi

I am a consultant/contractor (tech. executive), and have always run it through my own limited company, sometimes using agencies as intermediaries, sometimes not. So I know nothing about umbrella companies and other service agencies.

In the contract I am in one of the contractors I manage (hired before I was on board) just came to me saying that since April his real income has dropped by 20-25% and he needs an adjustment asap.

To me this means that the employer is still paying the same amount, but the cut that the agency, umbrella company and the government are taking has increased.

* it could be temporary (or permanent) PAYE adjustments?
    * it could be the umbrella company covering their risks and increasing their cut on the sly
    * it could be the agency increasing their cut on the sly

Obviously without sitting with the contractor and looking at what he receives on his end (something we're technically not supposed to do but is that legally enforcable?), it is hard to advise him, but I suspect it is the umbrella company and they should be kicked/dumped.