• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Unbrella or bust

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Damo1176
    I work as an offshoot of a helpdesk which says to me inside IR35 all the way.
    No it doesn't...

Well to be precise it may do, but it is not guaranteed. For example,
    • having to do set hours might appear to be D&C, but given the nature of the work it is not unreasonable and would apply to contractors as much as employees. Similarly having to adhere to performance standards and SLAs. Support work requires that kind of control anyway so is not a pointer to employment in that arena
    • If you don't turn up, do you get paid? If you turn up and there is nothing for you to do, do you get paid?
    • Are you contractually allowed to send a substitute, perhaps with the client's approval?
    Pass any one of those and you are not inside IR35...
    Last edited by malvolio; 30 March 2007, 15:04.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by Damo1176
      I work as an offshoot of a helpdesk which says to me inside IR35 all the way.
      You may of course be right. But a help desk doesn't have to be inside. So the question is, are you prepared to risk the cost of getting trhe contract reviewed and possibly changed negotiated against an improvement in your taxation positions.

It's entirely your choice. Only you can decide if it is worth it to you.

Comment