• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to Contracting - working v part time for old employer - bad idea?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Contracting - working v part time for old employer - bad idea?

I am new to contracting. So new I have not even started yet. I have, however, landed my first contract, very happy with it. Good day rate, outside IR35, company I have never worked with before. Ltd Company set up, Accountant appointed etc. Start in 2 weeks. Main client will be expecting me to work 5 days a week for them.

I am now nearly at the end of my 3 month notice period and my present employer (perm) are realising how much knowledge is about to walk out the door on a not yet completed project. They have broached the idea of keeping me on an a 2 day a month basis.

Is this a bad idea? Is it actually a good idea with IR35?

To be clear I have no intention of short changing anyone. The working practices of both clients would allow for early morning/evening/weekend to ensure that I have only charging a full day if that is what is done.

Would someone in that situation normally be clear with main client about the side gig?

EDIT : Just read GreenBastards reply and realised i cocked up. I replied thinking it was 2 days a week so had potential to impact your new contract. 2 days a month certainly won't and can easily be managed so I've editted the post as most of it is now irrelevant.